Skip to content
January 6, 2012 / foodradar

The Robin’s Nest

 

The Robin’s Nest

311 South Main St

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

http://robinsnestslc.com/

One summer day a few years ago a coworker and myself took off for lunch in my car.  We set off intent on eating somewhere new.  It was time to sample something good.  I admit it’s a real dice roll if you want something new (which is why I created this website) because you just never know when it comes to food places.  It could be really bad, or just hum-ho and before you know it, your lunch hour and money has either gone to waste, or has not lived up to its full potential.  So on that summer day we were driving in the Millcreek area on 3300 South up near 9th east, and we drove by what looked like a house, with a sign “Robin’s Nest” in front of it.  I was intrigued.  It was almost like a voice carried on the wind whispered to me and told me to stop the car and get out.  We parked the car and went up to the window, but the place had been closed for quite some time.  I actually remember joking with my friend in the ensuing weeks about The Robin’s Nest.  What kind of place was it?  Was the food good?  Why did it close down?  Now I can’t recall exactly how or when after that day I learned this, but The Robin’s Nest had actually re-located to downtown Salt Lake City right on Main Street and 300 South.  I immediately planned my first lunch outing to the Robin’s Nest.  My name is Hyrum Romrell.  This is Food Radar …  This is my story….

 We walked into the Robin’s Nest at around 11:15 which turns out is the perfect time to visit the Nest.  If you wait until lunch hour, be prepared to wait in line before your wildest dreams can be fulfilled.  The place itself is somewhat small but cozy.  The have small round tables in the dining area, and then a few hightop chairs by the wall.  I’d like to add that I LOVE hightop chairs with some good sturdy back support.  The feeling of having your feet dangle below while you engage in pure eating magic is an awesome feeling.  The food prep area is on the south side of the diner where they have a giant menu with all the selections.  The Robin’s Nest specializes in gourmet artisan sandwiches, salad’s, and soups.  I realize that lots of places throw around the word “gourmet” like it’s supposed to be some sort of magic word that makes their food delicious.  These sandwiches are not “gourmet”.  They are “gourmet artisan” sandwiches.  There is a reason why too….

Since it was my first time, I wanted to get the full combo meal that would include a sandwhich, cookie or desert bite, and chips and pasta.   *****ALERT *****ALERT***** Do NOT “settle” on chips!!!!  I personally hate it when a sandwhich place just offers  you chips with the sandwhich.  To me, it is a sell out, it’s boring, and it’s uninspired and unoriginal.  For all I know the chips they give are probably pretty tasty.  None of that matters.  Whatever  you do here, you MUST try the Orzo Pasta that comes along with your combo meal.  It’s my belief that the Orzo Pasta is the same stuff that fell out of heaven to Israel after they crossed the Red Sea.  It is literally little pieces of heaven in a clear plastic souffle cup.  It’s the BEST thing I have ever tasted in the “side salad” category.  If there was an Acadamey Award for Best Supporting Salad, then guess what?  This Orzo Pasta would win.  DOOOOO IIIIITTTT.   /alert over – back to your normal FoodRadar review.

The Gouda Smoker sandwich, Orzo Pasta, and Cherry White Chocolate Cookie

Okay so I was back in line and I ordered a combo meal with a sandwich, orzo pasta, and a little cherry/white chocolate chip cooke.  My first sandwich that day was The Cowboy.  now if you read the menu there is a little funny quip under each sandwhich.  The Cowboy – “Saddle-Up, This One’s Got a Kick!!”.  Robin’s Nest doesn’t lie.  I saddles up with my sandwich and it was AWESOME!!! with 3 “!”s.  count em’ ….  3 !!!

I haven't tried this but have been told it is amazing.

Each sandwhich is loaded with the freshest juiciest deli meat you can imagine.  And the deli meat on The Cowboy came along with all of his best friends too.  The Duke of Tomato, The Friar Red Onion, The Duchess of Lettuce, and his Grace’s Sun-Dried Tomato Horseradish.  All of Camelot’s holy court was mounted on the warmest, freshest Marble Rye bread my tastebuds have ever tasted.  @ $7.75, this sandwich was truly “Gourmet” and it sure as heck was “Artisan” too.  I absolutely loved it.

Freshly squeezed Lemoade and Sweet Tea !!!!

Another thing that will catch your eye at Robin’s nest is they have a … ( Must resist the Bob Ross talk …. Must fight  … CAN”T )  they have a happy little container of freshly squeezed lemonade sitting happily on the side of the diner.  MAJOR ++++ for FoodRadar!  No extra charge for the fresh squeezed lemonade.  I really like drink options at my food places.

Don't ask me what that thing is above the Robin's Nest sign is!

At the time I am writing this post, there is a special sandwich that just landed at the Robin’s Nest and that is “The Gouda Smoker”  or Oven-Roasted Turkey Breast, Bacon, Tomatoes, Red Onions, Lettuce, Melted Gouda, and Robin’s Homemade Garlic/BBQ Spread on Toasted Ciabatta!  This Sandwich gave me zero sub-par bites, every bite was a revelation.  I was so happy after lunch, I had to turn up the radio and rock out on my way back to work.

The Robin’s Nest will not do  your wrong for your lunch dollar.  You will rarely feel so happy with your lunch selection.  My real only (roast) beef with The Robin’s Nest is that it is only open M-F  from 10:30 till 4:30, so you cannot go there on the weekend.  Another suggestion I am going to make is to eat your sandwich there if possible.  That just goes without saying, that anytime you order food it is gonig to be its absolute best when it is just made.  No offense to cold day-old pizza – I still love you!

Robin’s Nest – I approve of you. When evil reared it’s ugly head, Sir Robin turned around and fled.  But I need to flee, flee to the nest!  I realize that those are humans behind the deli counter creating your beautiful sandwhiches, but I know better.  I know that the real genius of Robin’s Nest comes from the robins that appear everytime a Disney Princess is near.  They put together the creations with their chirpiness and song.  I haven’t seen the magic robins, but this food is just so amazing, I can only chalk it up to magic.

Are there magic robins at work here?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nancey Paluso / Feb 5 2013 5:25 pm

    There are also a number of additions that can go into a grilled cheese sandwich, like ham, tomato, herbs and spices, or sauces like ketchup or mustard. Some of these will go between the slices of bread before the grilling takes place, and some are sprinkled on the top or used as a dip. Many Canadians enjoy dipping their sandwiches in ketchup or applesauce, while people in the United States tend to prefer their sandwiches with tomato soup or French fries on the side.^

    My current blog
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/best-full-coverage-foundation/

    • foodradar / Feb 5 2013 5:27 pm

      Wow great comment Nancey. I don’t know about the applesauce though lol 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 9th South Delicatessen « foodradar
  2. Lenny’s Sub Shop « foodradar

Feedback appreciated!

