Skip to content
March 2, 2012 / foodradar

Kodiak Cakes

 

Kodiak Kakes or Bear Country Cookies (formerly known as Ben’s Cookie’s) is located at the Gateway Mall nestled by Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory.  This place is one of the few happy places I have on this earth.  At the moment I can think of two others and they are both at Disney Parks.  One of them is inside the courtyard of the Enchanted Tiki Room holding a Pineapple Dole Whip juice and the other close behind is at Epcot Center behind the lake at the French pastry bakery.  I’ll never forget a girl named Noemi there who asked if I wanted my french croissant with 3 exotic cheeses warmed up in the oven.  Ahhhh the memories of eating that croissant just outside the pastry shop.  I remember an older couple was walking by and they just laughed and said “You look like you are having a really good time with that croissant”.  Well those are 2 of my happy spots, but if I were to come up with a 3rd happy spot, it might be at the artist formerly known as Ben’s Cookies, or Kodiak Kakes at the Gateway Mall.

These are not your sister’s girl scout cookies.  In fact for the price of one box of girl scout cookies, you can get a cookie and hot chocolate.  MONEY!!!  The Kodiak Kake girls are constantly making cookies in the small kitchen/store area.  Two of my favorite cookies are the milk chocolate and the white chocolate cookie.  They are moist and very gooey cookies, and really unlike any other cookie you can get here in Utah.  I always get 2 cookies and carton of milk when I go unless I’m with family in which case Kodiak has some great packaged deals.  If you buy 5 cookies you get 2 for free, and if you buy 7 cookies you get 5 for free completing a dozen.  Kodiak also has some soft serve ice cream and if you like will prepare a Cookie Monster for you.  They make the cookie monster by taking two cookies of your choice and putting them back in the oven for a few seconds until the cookies are piping hot and gooey.  Then they put a bunch of ice cream between them.  AWESOME!!!

I’ve worked at the Gateway Megaplex 12 for about 10 years and these cookies have been a big part of my 20’s.  I’ve eaten well over a hundred of their cookies this past decade.  Not only has it been a big part of my life, but it’s probably a big part of my gut too.  But you know what?  If you are going to put on a few pounds, might as well do it happily right?  Why waste calories on gross cookies?  If you are going to the Gateway Mall anytime soon, make it a point to stop by this cookie Mecca.  Don’t be tempted by the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory next door and their assortment of caramel apples and caramel and white chocolate rice krispie treats.  Go to this place instead.

I also am happy to report that Kodiak Kakes offers a nice assortment of waffle mixes, cookie mixes, and syrup.  I’ve tried their oatmeal dark chocolate cookie mix by baking them at home.  They taste just as good coming out of my oven as they do in the store!!!

 

 

Waffle Mixes, Cookie Mixes, and gourmet Syrup

 

PLEASE SUPPORT FOOD RADAR BY VISITING MY SPONSOR BELOW

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. courses spanish beginners wellington / Apr 26 2012 2:57 am

    Magnificent site. A lot of helpful info here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your effort!

Feedback appreciated!

