Skip to content
May 3, 2012 / foodradar

Maxwell’s East Coast Eatery

Question: What Fat Kid / Italian Stallion combo looks better to you?

Fat Kid and the Italian Stallion

or would you rather have this Fat Kid / Italian Stallion combo?

Now this is more like it!

Maxwell’s East Coast Eatery!! So I have a buddy that has been talking up this place for months now. “Hey Hyrum, when we going to Maxwell’s” “Hey Hyrum” “Hey Hyrum.” Finally I decided to give Maxwell’s a try. I’ve actually walked by their place a couple of times before on my way to Robin’s Nest and this was my first time stopping in. Okay now guys and gals listen up! I’m going to try to describe this pizza without getting overly passionate, but let me tell you. This pizza is the real deal! If you want incredibly tasty New York style pizza here downtown Salt Lake, you need to take your hineys over to Maxwells!

When judging a pizza you have several different areas that are important. The crust, the sauce, the cheese, the toppings, and the appearance. These five areas really make up the whole experience. Let’s start with the crust. The crust is the perfect thinness and chewiness. I’ve never been a fan of pan pizzas or thick crust pizzas. When you have thick crust pizza you get full a lot quicker than you do when you have thin crust. Personally I would rather taste more of the sauce, cheese, and toppings than getting full purely off greasy pizza dough. (I’m talking to you Pizza Hut) I give the crust for this reason 4.5 gypsy tears out of 5 gypsy tears. The sauce should compliment the pizza, but not be the first thing you taste. I like a great sauce on a pizza and it doesn’t even have to be a marinara. I enjoy a good pesto, BBQ, buffalo, ranch, or marinara sauce on my pizzas. This sauce was good, and I didn’t have to think about it, so I also award 4.5 gypsy tears out of 5. Cheese. Cheese. Cheese. Is there so much cheese that it leaves little puddles of grease on top? (I’m talking to you Pie, but I still love ya) Some pizza places like Settebello treat the cheese as a topping and not a layer. I really think Maxwells has a good amount of cheese here. I’ll go 4 out of 5 gypsy tears. Toppings. Clearly we have a perfect 5 out of 5 here. The Fat Kid pizza they make was just tremendous. It is made of pepperoni, ricotta, and spinach. Think of Violet Blue in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory when she chews the gum that tastes like meatloaf, potatoes and finally blueberry pie. Likewise the Fat Kid will make you feel like you just swallowed a warm bite of lasagna. And of course you can fold the pizza over like a true New Yorker and eat it like a sandwich. The Fat Kid was amazing. For the Italian Stallion, Maxwell’s gives you pepperoni, sausage, and chicken. I don’t know of too many places that can pull off that combination, but it was also just as yummy. Finally appearance. When the pizza came to our table, my buddy was eager to dig in, but I had to make him wait while I admired this beauty. The picture says it all. I award 5 out of 5 gypsy tears for a grand total of 23 out 25 possible gypsy tears. That is one hell of a pizza score!

This next paragraph is going to be dedicated to something that not enough food places do. So if you are a restaurant owner please take notice. Some of us get really tired of Diet Coke or Diet Pepsi. I love it when places offer other low-calorie options. Maxwells offers Diet Dr. Pepper. What a relief. I love Diet Dr. Pepper! Thank you Maxwells Thank you very much for not being a lame soda provider!

Finally the ambience of Maxwell’s was very relaxing and cozy. They have huge HD T.Vs scattered around the place with sports going all the time. This is awesome. Also I like sitting at high tables on bar stools. I like to have my feet dangle while I’m eating amazing pizza and drinking an ice cold diet Dr. Pepper. I know these aren’t big things but they go a long way. I can’t wait to make my way back to Maxwell’s. This is the type of place you can go with your buddies for pizza and drinks and won’t feel bad about lingering around for a while. It is like a giant man-cave, but with pizza!

When we were leaving I noticed a waitress taking a hot Philly cheesesteak sandwich out to a patron that looked really tempting, but I’m not sure if I can break my thoughts away from their pizza. It truly is one of a kind! The menu is also full of other tempting delights, sandwiches of all sorts, salads, and other east coast offerings. If you haven’t tried Maxwell’s, please put this on your radar!

The scene from inside Maxwells.

Feedback appreciated!

