Skip to content
October 4, 2012 / foodradar

Pinon Market & Cafe

Pinon Market near Foothill Drive.

Pinon Market near Foothill Drive.

As I near the completion of my first year with this food blog, I am discovering that finding those hidden gems is getting to be more and more of a challenge.  When I first started last December, it was easy to go to all of my favorite places and share what I loved about them.  Now 10 months later I really have to do my homework and put forth some effort to find such places.  That is why I’m pretty excited to tell everyone about Pinon Market and Cafe, and how awesome it was.  My first trip was so good, I had no choice but to return the very next day on my birthday along with a coworker.

The Sandwich Menu

Pinon is just off the corner of 13th south and 2100 east right behind a shopping plaza on Foothill Drive.  It has nice landscaping, and an outdoor patio with plenty of shade.  “Inviting” is the first word that comes to mind when describing the outside as well as the inside of Pinon.  As you can see above, they have a large, easy to read menu displaying all of their delicious sandwiches.  Not pictured here is also a breakfast menu that is served until 11 am everyday.

The Cobb Sandwich with a chocolate chip cookie

You really won’t get a full sense of how big the Cobb sandwich is until you try holding half of it in your hand.  I like how from the side, you can easily see the bacon layer.  Normally turkey and bacon sandwiches have one little grimy piece of bacon hidden somewhere inside.  You may or may not find it, let alone taste it.  Pinon Market makes sure you taste the bacon, and see it too.  I chose my Cobb sandwich to go inside some yummy house-made foccacia bread.  Everything was fresh and tasty, even the herb mayo they had going on there was outstanding.  It was a quite the task to finish this sandwich, but it was a task I’ll gladly take on again, and again, and again.  If you are going to come here, don’t miss out on the Cobb.

Rosemary Roast Beef Sandwich with Green Chile Corn Chowder

The sandwich was so good, I was decided to come back the next day for some more.  This time I had the chance to meet the owner of Pinon Cafe, Victoria Topham.  This guru of the kitchen has been in business for over 17 years now.  I asked her if she had soups I could try with my sandwich and was expecting the boring reply of “Chicken Noodle” or “Tomato”.  But NO.  They were serving green chile corn chowder!  How do you say no to something so exotic and wonderful sounding?  Not this guy!  The soup definitely had a little kick to it, but it was so good, I could have licked the bowl clean.  Victoria talked my friend into a Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich for his lunch.  As we were eating, he scolded me for not bringing him to Pinon earlier.  The prices here are very, very competitive, and the service was outstanding.  My stomach thanked me for the rest of the day.  Sure I was in a food coma for most of the afternoon, but I had a chocolate chip cookie and a birthday brownie in hand, so life was good!

Of Course I took a picture of these

I really don’t have any self-control when it comes to cookies, so when restaurants put a big basket of fresh-baked cookies in front of me, I’m going to be buying one.  Victoria also had other tasty delights ready to tempt you.  I mentioned brownies, but what you have not seen are her cinnamon rolls or fresh fruit tarts.  Do I really need to say more?

Victoria also has a weekly feature on KUTV2 where she shares some of her recipes.  Here is an example for a Mother’s Day Breakfast for your viewing pleasure.

Go visit Pinon Market and Cafe for a soup and sandwich, or stop in before work for some tasty breakfast items that include a breakfast burrito that I can’t wait to try.

PLEASE SUPPORT FOOD RADAR BY VISITING MY SPONSOR BELOW

Feedback appreciated!

