Skip to content
January 30, 2013 / foodradar

Zinburger

Zinburger

Zinburger

Zinmaster and you would have to put a picture of Phil Jackson on the wall.  Zenburger and the only choice would be a picture of a cow.  And in my book, anytime you have a picture of a cow on the outside of your burger or steak joint then you are basically a winner.  Cow Picture = Win.  No Cow Picture = Lose.  Just how good is Zenburger though?  Well there are many factors that go into rating a burger joint.  How good are the buns, how good are the toppings, how tasty is the ground beef patty?  What about the drinks?  What about the ambience?  And finally, how good are the fries?  Zenburger pretty much has their inner Chi in order (or whatever it is Zen-folk do) so I have to give them a high rating overall.  Here are some pics to prove it, and of course my run in with an NBA Superstar.

MORE COWS

MORE COWS

One …  Two … Three …  Four … Four Cows.  (Paying homage to The Count – RIP) My only question though is “Where are the cowbells?”  I really have a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell.  (If you don’t get that reference, stop what you are doing now and YouTube “Christopher Walken Cowbell SNL”.)  I do like the mural though, I’m guessing you are supposed to be transformed to a pasture in the middle of Texas or Nebraska where they have corn-fed cattle.  Is that sweet smell a cow patty, or is it a burger?  hmmm.

the Zinburger

the Zinburger

Finally someone who gets it.  I don’t like my pickles on my burger, they put them to the side.  So if you like pickles you put them on, if not, then you have a nice little green garnishment decoration.  Let’s talk Zinburger.  It had some delicious mushrooms and pepperjack cheese on it.  Bun and Burger alike were both delicious.

Truffle Fries with aioli sauce

Truffle Fries with aioli sauce

There were a few fries options to go along with our burger.  I personally went with the truffle fries and aioli dipping sauce.  They were awesome.  I like fries that are a little thin, but not too thin.  They should be slighty crispy.  Crinkle-cutt fries are an abomination in my opinion.  I also like places who use their imagination when it comes to what you dip the fries in.  Utah gets it with fry sauce, so I was impressed that Zinburger in Phoenix, Arizona gave me something other than boring ketchup.  Another good choice would be their sweet potato fries.

I liked Zenburger and would eat there again.  It’s located in a nice upscale shopping center in Bitmore.  Speaking of that shopping center, did you know it has an Apple Store?  Do you know who I ran into at that Apple Store?  Let me post a pic before it’s too late.

Blake Griffin and DeAndre Jordan of the Clippers who were in town to play the Suns

Blake Griffin and DeAndre Jordan of the Clippers who were in town to play the Suns

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Drink Deal Daily / Feb 1 2013 8:47 pm

    Will definitely try Zenburger after this review…and you mention many of my favorite things in life while you do it, basketball (The Zen Master, gotta love the Triangle Offense) , Chris Walken (One of the most underrated actors of our generation) and a good piece of beef! (yes crinkle fries are an abomination but so is spraying truffel oil on a perfectly good piece of fried tater) Only missing BEER! Cheers from the Staff at Drink Deal Daily!

    • foodradar / Feb 1 2013 9:26 pm

      I loved reading your comment! I have one more Phoenix review to write, a real hidden gem!

Feedback appreciated!